calsmallPresident Aquino awards outstanding barangay courts

 December 8, 2011

presPresident Benigno S. Aquino III conferred today the presidential awards for this year’s most outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa or barangay courts in the country in a ceremony held at Malacanang.


The President bestowed the awards to 12 barangays whose lupons were proclaimed as most outstanding barangay courts for 2011 under the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA) program being spearheaded by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).

Interior and Local Government Secretary Jesse M. Robredo, who is also chairman of the National Awards Committee (NAC), said the awardees were adjudged national winners as well as, first and second runners-up by the national awards committee for highly urbanized cities, component cities, first to third class municipalities and fourth to sixth class municipalities.

President Aquino, assisted by Sec. Robredo and members of the NAC, presented the presidential trophy and a cash prize of P200,000 to each of the national winners, and a plaque of recognition and cash prize of P50,000 and P30,000 to each of the 1st and 2nd runners-up winners, respectively.

Aside from Robredo, the other members of the NAC include Department of Justice Secretary Leila M. De lima , Supreme Court Chief Justice Renato C. Corona, National Police Commission (Napolcom) Vice Chair Eduardo U. Escueta and Liga ng mga Barangay national president Rico Judge Janvier Echiverri.

Robredo said the winners were chosen for their exemplary performance in resolving petty disputes of their constituents, thereby contributing to the attainment of the objectives of the Katarungang Pambarangay (KP) program, and in the maintenance of peace and harmony in their respective villages.

He explained that this year’s search covered 39,348 lupons nationwide, and of the number, 48 national finalists were selected by the various award committees organized at the regional, provincial, city and municipal levels.

The winners, according to the DILG secretary, were chosen on the basis of the following criteria: efficiency in operation; effectiveness in securing the objective of the Katarungang Pambarangay program; and creativity and resourcefulness of the lupon.

He named this year’s Lupong Tagapamayapa or LT national winners and runners-up as follows:

  • For most outstanding LT in highly urbanized cities, national winner, LT of Brgy Adlaon, Cebu City ; first runner-up LT of Brgy. Katangawan, General Santos City ; second runner-up, LT of Brgy. Onse, San Juan City , Metro Manila .
  • For most outstanding LT in component cities, national winner, LT of Brgy Tuyo, Balanga City, Bataan; first runner-up, LT of Brgy 1, San Lorenzo, Laoag City, Ilocos Norte; and second runner-up, LT of Brgy Kalasungay, Malaybalay City, Bukidnon.
  • For most outstanding LT in first to third class municipalities, the national winner, LT of Brgy Bailan, Pontevedra, Capiz; first runner-up, LT of Brgy Lopez Jaena, Norala South Cotabato; and second runner-up, LT of Brgy Poblacion, Barobo, Surigao del Sur.
  • For most outstanding LT in fourth to sixth class municipalities, national winner, LT of Brgy Quezon, Mainit, Surigao del Norte; first runner-up, LT of Brgy Hingatungan, Silago, Southern Leyte; and LT of Brgy Ambassador, Tublay, Benguet.

The Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards was established pursuant to Executive Order 394, in recognition of the lupon’s contributions to the promotion of the Katarungang Pambarangay program. (30).





visit president









Integrated Library Management System link


The Story of Juan


Back to Top