February 12, 2013

LLAThe best performing municipal and city sanggunians in Eastern Visayas will be feted on the second day of the regional congress of the Philippine Councilors’ League on February 13, 2013.
Regional Director Pedro A. Noval Jr. of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), said that the regional Local Legislative Awards (LLA) to be held at 10:00 in the morning at the People’s Center and Library, Tacloban City, has been a project of the regional PCL and DILG since the year 2000.

He revealed that the regional nominees which shall vie for the top honors, (by category and in  alphabetical order) are:    1st to 3rd Class Municipality: Catarman, Northern Samar; Hinunangan, Southern Leyte; Naval, Biliran; Sta. Rita, Samar; and Tanauan, Leyte. 4th to 6th Class Municipality: Babatngon, Leyte; Balangiga, Eastern Samar; Cabucgayan, Biliran; Motiong, Samar; Limasawa, Southern Leyte; San Isidro Northern Samar; HUC & Independent Component City Category  - Ormoc City; & Component City Category  - Calbayog City.  Further, Department of Energy Secretary Carlos Jericho L. Petilla has been invited as Guest Speaker.
“This award seeks to highlight innovations and excellence in local legislation to inspire other sanggunians to perform better,” said Dir. Noval.  Plaques will be given to all regional awardees while regional champions will receive additional P10,000 pesos cash from the PCL.
Aside from the PCL which is the vice chair of the LLA Regional Awards Committee; the program owes its success to its partners, Department of Agriculture, Department of Social Welfare and Development, Department of the Environment and Natural Resources and the Leyte Chamber of Commerce and Industry which send representatives to the regional evaluation to validate the provincial nominees.
The nominees are evaluated based on five criteria: Effectiveness of the Legislative Agenda  (35 pts.); Effectiveness of the Legislative Tracking System (10 pts.); Availability of Legislative Documents (10 pts.); Efficiency of Performance of the Sanggunian (35 pts.); and  Quality of Office set-up and staff complement (10 pts.)
In 2006 the then-Search for Most Outstanding Sangguniang Bayan (MOSB) was adopted as a national competition called the Local Legislative Awards.  It was temporarily suspended for one year at the national level but has since been implemented continuously since 2008.  The National LLA is now conferred every term of office of local officials. At present, to allow for evaluations and validation to be conducted from the provincial, regional and national levels, the coverage period is from July 1, 2010 up to June 30, 2012. ###

by Myles Joseph E. Colasito

(DILG8 Regional Info Officer)





visit president









Integrated Library Management System link


The Story of Juan


Back to Top